President’s Message

John Masterjohn

In my last newsletter I predicted that a great time would be had by all at the Christmas Luncheon… and, indeed, we did just that. So now I will predict a great New Year in 2018!


On January 10th, 2018 ARSCE had our first of the year Board meeting. Maria Britton-Sipe, Executive Director of the Retired Public Employees Council of Washington, delivered an informative talk about how the federal and state government are going after public employees’ retirement systems. She asked if ARSCE wanted to become an affiliate of their organization. The Board has decided to investigate how that might happen. In the meantime, there are a number of the Board who might join as individuals. I have asked Marie to write an article for the ARSCE News. You can read it on page 5.


Now I want to thank Alan Hovland, Jeannette Voiland, and Mike Nagan for all the work they’ve done on our new website. Look it up–it is really great! I also need to thank Lee Sattler for all her work on it also. You can find us at:


I want to give you a report on the SCERS (Seattle City Employees’ Retirement System) accomplishments for the year 2017. Some of this has been reported previously in my articles or in Lou Walter’s columns.


First, SCERS hired a new Executive Director, Jeff Davis, and also Paige Alderete was hired as the Chief Financial Operation Officer. Two Board members were re-elected/reappointed in July. Lou Walter was re-elected and Robert Harvey, Jr. was reappointed to the Board.


In 2017, SCERS achieved a number of improvements in service levels. Here are just a few: they conducted formal retirement appointments and retired 343 members, they added over 600 new members to the plan, and they conducted 19 retirement planning seminars.


Preliminary estimates reflect that SCERS’ investment portfolio increased by more than 13% in 2017, increasing to nearly $2.83 billion as of December 31, 2017, up from $2.5 billion at the end of 2016. That sounds good to me; they had a good year.


The ballots for the ARSCE Board elections are in this issue of the paper, so make sure you fill out your ballot and return it as soon as possible.


The last thing I want to mention is that, at our March Spring luncheon, we will be joined by a number of Board members from the Retired City Light Employees Association (RCLEA).


Well, that is enough for now,

your president,

John Masterjohn

Contact Mr. Masterjohn at
This message also appears in the ARSCE News, March-April, 2018, page 1.

Spring Luncheon

Join us for ARSCE’s Spring Luncheon, Wednesday, March 14, 2018 at the West Seattle Golf Course, 4470 35th Ave SW, Seattle, WA 98126

Encore Performance!

Sergeant Steve White returns with his dog from the Seattle Police K-9 Unit. His last visit was enthusiastically received by all of our members!


Doors open at 11 a.m.:

11:00 am – Noon No Host Bar & visit with friends

Lunch served at noon:

Partake in Prime Rib and Chicken, yummmmm!

Plus dessert & coffee, tea, or soft drinks.

Beer & wine available at an extra cost.


Cost: $20.00 per person

Reservations due by Wednesday, March 7th, 2018.

(Cancellations no later than 48 hours prior to the luncheon.

Cancellation questions? Call Victoria Troisi at 425-443-3799).

Food is ordered for reservations only. If you attend without reserving ahead of time… there may not be enough food to serve. Please make your reservations ahead of time. Thank you!

To pay by credit or debit card or PayPal:

Enter a name and phone number and click “Add to cart”.

Enter luncheon attendee name:

Phone number, just in case:

To register and pay by via check through the mail:

Please make your check or money order payable to:

ARSCE Spring Luncheon and mail it with your completed reservation form below.


NAME(S): _____________________________________________

ADDRESS: _____________________________________________

CITY/STATE: ___________________________  ZIP: ____________

No. Attending: __________________ x $20 each = $ _____________

TOTAL AMOUNT ENCLOSED; $______________________________


                      PO BOX 75385

                      SEATTLE, WA 98175-0385